Oliver on the road to recovery

            It will be four months tomorrow since I adopted my new kitty Oliver.  He is the sweetest little guy. As for his allergy problem, the coconut oil and colloidal silver is helping to grow back his hair in the hot spot areas that were a dark pink color and bald.  Now his skin in mostly back to the normal pink color except a spot on his elbow that I’m working on and the hair is growing back nicely.

           I changed his food to raw venison, since I believe he is allergic to salmon and who knows what else.  He was eating LID natural balance salmon and green pea, then I changed to LID natural balance duck and green pea.  Since his spots didn’t seem to improve after that I changed to the raw venison since I’m sure he’s never had that before.  Since I changed the food, he isn’t getting any new hot spots and the little red dots above his eyelids haven’t come back since the coconut oil bath, so I’ve stopped the baths and I’m now only treating the dark pink areas on his skin with a mixture of water and coconut oil in a spray bottle. 

            The way I tested to see if the natural balance salmon food was his allergy, I cooked up a piece of salmon plain and fed it to him.  He didn’t want to eat it at first but I sprinkled a few pieces of the dry natural balance food on top (about 10 pieces) and he went hunting for them amongst the salmon.  Soon he had eaten the whole plate.  I noticed about half way through his eyes had started watering profusely.  So much that he stopped to clean his eyes.  After that I decided to try raw. 

           If this ends up not working, I’m thinking about taking him to a holistic vet in town and also start making him raw food.  I found a great website by a DVM that tells you exactly how to make up 6 months to a years worth of raw food for your kitty and where to get all the ingredients if you have a problem finding them yourself.   Hopefully I won’t have to go to the holistic vet if we’re on the right track.  I might end up making his own food for him any way. We’ll see =)

Lounging on the heating pad.

Leave a comment

Filed under cats

Leave a comment